“My friend asked me why I want to share about my life now. I responded that I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility to help others like me to be themselves. I am 40 years old and I live in Florida, the US with my husband Rick. We have a 27-year-old African Grey Parrot named Dorry and a 14-year-old Chihuahua dog named Snuggles. I am a massage specialist by profession.

I was born in Khasadraphu and did my primary schooling in India. I completed my high school in Bhutan and started my hospitality industry journey in an international hotel chain in Paro. I later got transferred to the Maldives and then moved to the Bahamas. I came out as gay in my late 20s. When I first discovered my liking for men, I was confused because I had been dating women too. I did not have the courage to dig deep and find out so I ignored my need to discover myself for the longest time. I tried to live a normal life, but I wasn’t living the life destined for me until I came out. I have been very lucky to have had a family that supported me when I came out and friends who were there during the journey.

My husband and I met 6 years ago through Facebook, where we both followed a common Bhutanese Fashion page. We got married in 2017 after the US legalised gay marriage. I hope that someday Bhutan and other countries that do not recognise gay marriages will change their laws. Everyone should have the right to love who they want to. The place I live in currently, Keywest Florida, is a very LGBTQIA+ friendly town. I work at a male-only clothing optional resort here. The people are of many diverse backgrounds and I have been lucky to call this place home for the past 5 years.

I like to think of GnH as being Gay and Happy! To everyone who’s struggling with their identity or sexuality, have patience. You will figure it out. Being you is the most difficult turn in the road, but once you make that turn the road ahead is going to be smooth.”

Humans of Thimphu with YPEER Asia Pacific Center -Ypeer AP celebrates the LGBTQIA+ community for their resilience against social stigma and their empowered journey to self-acceptance.

#HumansofThimphu #HumanStories #LoveisforEveryone

Loading

Read More Stories

“It was right after I completed my 12 grade examinations that I got into photography. Two of my good friends

“It has been more than a year since I have been working here. My cousin asked for help when he

“My dancing journey started when I was in high school. I started dancing with my friends and after I completed

“I recently graduated college and completed my Bachelors in Engineering in Power Engineering and I am currently looking for a